The Matt vs. Mo Challenge

Hey There!

My big face off against Mo Farah at the Cardiff Half Marathon is less than a week away. The race also serves as a tune up race for the London Marathon which is a bit more than a month away. The training has been going quite well and I am certain that I won’t make a complete mess of it like I did when I ran the Bluenose 6 years ago. I reckon I may even be able to walk after it! Possibly.

As most of you know I am fundraising for the Roy Castle Lung Cancer Foundation as a part of my London Marathon entry. To help generate some fundraising activity I would like to introduce The Matt vs. Mo Challenge. Here’s how it works! Below I have set out a series of benchmarks for my performance relative to Mo. For each benchmark you will pledge to make a donation of your choosing to my London Marathon effort. For each benchmark that I exceed you will honour your pledge (which you can do by donating to my justgiving page). There will be 5 benchmarks in total. I am going to participate in the challenge myself. The values that I set should help you guys figure out what reasonable donations should look like. No amount is too  small and I am eternally grateful for any assistance you can provide. This will also give me a bit more fire for next weekend! Without further ado!

The Matt vs. Mo Challenge

matt vs. mo

Benchmark 1: Mo beats Matt by less than 40 minutes

If Mo beats Matt by less than 40 minutes then I will denote £25 to my London Marathon effort.

Benchmark 2: Mo beats Matt by less than 30 minutes

If Mo beats Matt by less than 30 minutes then I will denote £50 to my London Marathon effort.

Benchmark 3: Mo beats Matt by less than 20 minutes

If Mo beats Matt by less than 20 minutes then I will denote £5,000 to my London Marathon effort.

Benchmark 4: Mo beats Matt by less than 10 minutes

If Mo beats Matt by less than 10 minutes then I will denote £300,000,000 to my London Marathon effort.

Benchmark 5: Matt beats Mo

If Matt beats Mo then I will denote 3 Fully Operational Death Stars to my London Marathon effort.

To remove any level of ambiguity Benchmark 1 is a slam dunk, Benchmark 2 would involve a personal best but is well within the realm of possibility while Benchmarks 3-5 are fucking impossible. Feel free to post your pledges on Facebook or you can send them to me directly if you prefer.

One final thing! To encourage participation I will mail a gift to the individual whose Benchmark 5 pledge gives me the biggest chuckle!

As a reminder donations can be made to my justgiving page at:  www.justgiving.com/Matt-Hurshman

 

I would love to have you guys participate!

Matt

One thought on “The Matt vs. Mo Challenge

  1. Great idea Matt!!
    Go get Mo……..that will be your catch-phrase!!
    Things are crazy busy here…..but a good crazy, I’m in working on a Sunday night!
    Lots of pictures buddy,
    Wes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

